Interviewing Author Ayan Pal

Hola Friends,

Being back from the sabbatical (which we writers are never into, we either are writing or are thinking about writing) I have got an amazing author to talk with us. His writing amazed me and that moment, I thought to interview him and after he agreed I presented him the wave of questions to which he has something extra-ordinary to say. Let’s see what Author Ayan Pal has to say-

Author Ayan Pal

  1. Hi Ayan, thank you for agreeing for this interview. Tell us something about yourself.
    1. Sure Sagar! Always a pleasure to answer questions. So here goes… I am an IBM Accredited IT Consultant with over 11 years of experience across IT Majors CISCO, WIPRO, and IBM. I debuted as a short story writer in 2014 with the #2 Amazon Bestseller ‘21 Tales to Tell’ and followed it up with the #1 Amazon Bestseller ‘Chronicles of Urban Nomads’. I have also contributed to India’s first composite novel – ‘Crossed and Knotted’, ‘Upper Cut’, ‘Her Story’, and ‘Rudraksha’ respectively. I am passionate about public speaking and leadership and have been an Area and Division Governor of Toastmasters International, a nonprofit educational organization headquartered in Santa Anna, California. I was the recipient of the highest honor from Toastmasters – ‘Distinguished Toastmaster’ becoming the first person from Kolkata in 90 years to do so. I have also received multiple service excellence awards from IBM and a Brandan Hall Silver Award, considered as the ‘Academy Awards’ by Learning, Talent, and Business Executives. I love reading, creative writing, and binge watching my favorite TV Shows. I am currently working on my debut novel – ‘What If…?’ that is expected to release later this year.
  2. When did you start writing & what/who inspired you to begin writing?
    1. I started working on my novel in 2003, while I was studying Engineering. I was actually inspired by a film – Manoj Nigh Shyamalan’s ‘Signs’. It propelled me to get back to writing. That, and of course ‘Lord of the Rings’, the films as well as the book series. These made me realize that I must begin to tell my story!
  3. Who is your favorite Author? Anything specific that keeps you hooked to his/her writing?
    1. While I have a lot of favorites including JK Rowling, Emily Bronte, Chitra Banerjee Devikaruni, Mitch Albom, Jodi Picoult, Jhumpa Lahiri, Arundhati Ray, Charles Dickens, Rick Riordan, and JRR Tolkien, I absolutely love Agatha Christie for the way she has churned out mysteries one after another. Be it character development in terms of Miss Marple or Poirot, or for that matter impeccable plots in one murder mystery after another, she is amazing!
  4. What have you written? (anything & everything- novels, short stories, novellas etc)
    1. I have written several short stories, a composite novel, and am working on my debut novel currently that will hopefully release later this year. I also have at least two novellas in mind which I will be working on once my novel releases.
  5. What genre are your books?
    1. I have thankfully been able to dabble in multiple genres thanks to my short stories. However, I do drama, mythology, fantasy, and thriller best. My novel is, but obviously, a combination of the above genres.
  6. Out of all the books that you’ve written, which one is your most favorite? Tell us something about that book?
    1. Based on what I have written so far, it would probably be ‘Crossed and Knotted’ which also happens to be India’s first composite novel. Writing this novel along with 13 other authors was a liberating experience. This also sees me trying out a thriller for the first time. The critical response to the book has been phenomenal to say the least. Let’s hope the readers find it to be as great!
      Cossed and Knotted
  7. What’s your recent book about? (Please let us know the name too) (Is it published?)
    1. My latest book is ‘Rudraksha’, a collection of mythological tales that will release in June. Mine is the title story from this anthology by various authors.
  8. Could you tell us something about the main character of your recent book?
    1. My main character is called ‘Rudraksh’. He is a graphic novelist on a mysterious quest to an ancient Indian city seeped in mythology. What exactly is his mission, and how does that have the power to change his entire life, is what my story is all about. This story for me is as much a mythological thriller as it is a tribute to Goddess Kali and Lord Agni. When you read the book, you will find out exactly why it is so!
  9. It is said that a writer should always read a lot, do you agree? Does it influence one’s writing? How do you avoid the influence & maintain the flow?
    1. I absolutely agree. Reading is essential. It influences a person on many levels. While I am confident of my craft, I do sometimes try to distance myself from reading while writing. For me reading and writing should happen alternatively, rather than simultaneously.
  10. Do you follow a special regime to write? And how do you go about writing every day?
    1. While I do not follow any special regimen, for me peace of mind is absolutely important and I tend to write better whenever it’s the most peaceful. That could be a hot summer afternoon, early morning, or late at night. However, I don’t write every day. I usually keep thinking during the day/week and binge-write when I can’t hold on to my thoughts anymore! While editing however, I follow a strict schedule and do it on a daily basis. Not so much for writing.
  11. When you sit to write, how do you create the flow/mood to keep writing without getting disturbed?
    1. I usually listen to music to set the mood and then just go about writing. I need to be the only one in the room to be able to write. That apart, there isn’t really anything to it. Having said that, when I do get disturbed, or distracted, I ensure that whatever is the cause for it is taken care of, before I get back to writing. I hate having pending tasks while writing and ensure there aren’t any.
  12. Thank you so much, it was a pleasure to interview you. What message would you like to give to your fans and followers? And also let us know about your blog and where we can buy your book/s?
    1. I have a simple message – keep reading. Reading has always been, and will continue to remain an excellent way to lose yourself in a fantastic world where your imagination is the hero. There cannot be a substitute to reading, be it through a paperback, on your Mobile, or on Kindle. If you have read and liked my books, don’t stop. Pick up another book – any one – and get back to reading. To find out more about me and my writing, you can simply:
  13. Like me on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/AuthorAyanPal
  14. Follow me on Twitter: https://twitter.com/imayanpal
  15. Read my Blogs on: http://authorayanpal.blogspot.in/
  16. Visit my website: http://authorayanpal.wix.com/authorayanpal

Wow, Indeed Amazing. I look forward to losing myself in the amazing art of writing that Ayan has and I am sure you too will.

Stay connected, Keep reading and enjoy the journey. I’ll soon come back with a bang new and amazing topic.

Hasta-la-Vista,
Yours Truly,
Sagar Agarwal

About sagarwal_author

A writer, blogger, trainer, an entrepreneur, and an emerging author.
This entry was posted in Startups and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

